You’ve already been Justified, why are you stressing?

“And those whom He thus foreordained, He also called; and those whom He called, He also justified (acquitted, made righteous, putting them into right standing with Himself). And those whom He justified, He also glorified [raising them to a heavenly dignity and condition or state of being].” Romans 8:30 [amp]

Ever had that feeling where you just don’t think you are perfect. There is so much doubt going on, you feel like you just can’t measure up to anything and there is just nothing there for you. I have! So many times. I have days where I don’t even want to get out of bed because I am thinking, “what good will it do me anyways”. I think to myself that there really isn’t any weight that I hold, that whether I am there or not no one will even realize. It’s funny though that God always has a different idea, a different perspective of who we are, a different perspective of our worth and a different perspective on how much weight we hold (and no, not that weight in pounds because ey, that’s another story).

These feelings of worthlessness are magnified, especially, when God has a plan and is laying things down in front of you. There are times where I really feel like God wants me to do something, something big, something real, but then I think to myself…”that’s too big for me” or “I’m not prepared for that”. Ever felt like that? The thoughts of, maybe if I take some more time and practice that to get better then I can try and do it. It is human nature to feel like that, no doubt. To feel like we need to make and effort and make sure we are perfect before we do what God wants us to do now. 

In Romans 8:30 we are told, clearly, that God has got it all under control, that He has chosen us and equipped us. That He has JUSTIFIED and GLORIFIED us for the purpose set out for us. Isn’t that beautiful? But why is it hard to accept this, to embrace the graciousness that is so vivid in this passage? It is easier to dispute it and make our own claims. It is just easier to rationalize and fill in the gaps for God. I do it all the time, so I know. I hear His plan or read on the direction He wants me to go. Then I think to myself, maybe He meant this or, maybe He actually wanted me to do things this way. I am sure God looks down on me sometimes and gets super frustrated, just thinking, “why won’t she listen to me?”.

It is a struggle that I face daily, I struggle to walk in the glorification and the justification given to me by God. I find it hard to believe that He has actually made me right by Him. I think to myself often that I have to work at it all myself, that I need to understand before I take that step. At the same time, I challenge myself to walk in faith of this promise and know that God has got my back.

What is one thing, in your life right now, that you feel led into but are struggling to follow through with? Is fear holding you back? If God has led you, He has prepared you for it. Stop doubting and walk out in it, He has already prepared the way (and prepared you) for what’s in store!

GO GET IT TIGER!!!

Leave a Reply

